Posted on

First Snow Hole of the Season and Some Ice Found!

Students leaving their well sculpted snow homes

My Website: http://www.elements.gb.net           Date: 11th/01/12

I’m just back in from my first snow hole of the season, it’s looking like I’m going to be having quite a few more before the winters finished!

It proved to be a very windy walk in yesterday with gusts of 70mph plus, we soon reached some welcome shelter at our snow hole site. I was concerned that there would not be enough depth to the snow for snow holing but it all worked out fine.

A very windy, wet and cold  three hours of night navigation was enjoyed (well as much as you can), before we fully turned in for the night to our spacious snow holes.

Today was a really fine clear day to begin with, giving us great views all across the Cairngorm’s.

A rocky and bare Shelter Stone and Carn Etchachan

Looking into the Loch Avon basin it was no surprise to see how stripped the crags looked, if it was not so cold they would have looked good for some rock climbing action.

One surprise was how much ice was still holding on Hell’s Lum. From afar you could see some good complete icy lines giving a shimmer and refection of hope that there may still be some climbing to be had?

Some icy looking lines holding on at Hell's Lum

I’ve got one more days work with the Winter Mountain Leader team then I have most of friday off. With the forecast looking wintery and windy tomorrow then clearing to a fine day on Friday, I’m hoping to get a route in then. Here’s hoping this is the return to winter?

One response to “First Snow Hole of the Season and Some Ice Found!

  1. Thank you for some other magnificent post. Where else may anybody get that kind
    of information in such an ideal manner of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such
    information.

Leave a comment